Jerry Seinfeld, FTW?


I’ll start out by saying that part of my family (including my mom) comes from England. I’ve never been, and most days of the week you can hear me complain about this fact. Also, I love English things – I love English people (well, the ones I know so far), English humor, English tea, English film, English music, Harry Potter, etc. So this blog post is not a put down of England. In fact, I would like to live there.

With that said, I would like to take the time to state that if I have to see ONE MORE television program on the Royal Wedding I think am going to loose it. What is it with American news programs and obsession with this wedding?! With so much else going on in the country and the world, why are so-called news sources wasting precious air time on this ridiculous over-exposed event? It’s so absurd…I don’t even know why I’m posting about it. Recently Jerry Seinfeld (hero, aside from the Marraige Ref….we’ll just ignore that mistake) was in Britain to promote his upcoming stand-up show at the O2, and during an interview let his opinions on the Royal Wedding be known:

“It’s a circus act – it’s an absurd act. It’s a dress up. It’s a classic English thing of let’s play dress-up. Let’s pretend these are special people. OK, we’ll all pretend that – that’s what theatre is. That’s why the British have the greatest theatre in the world. They love to dress up and they love to play pretend. And that’s what the Royal Family is – it’s a huge game of pretend. These aren’t special people…”

Check out the video here:

1) Why aren’t more people saying this?

2) Why are people offended by this? Half the comments you read under articles about Seinfeld’s comments slam the comedian for supposedly showing how ignorant and stupid all Americans are. Hate to break it to you but (unfortunately) Jerry Seinfeld doesn’t represent all Americans, and saying that he does is like saying that Ricky Gervais’ job at the Golden Globes represents all British people.

I particularly like comedians, the smart ones anyway, because comedians are essentially sociologists. They call attention to certain things in culture, history and politics and point out the absurdity in them. I totally agree with Seinfeld. Yes, it’s tradition (and as a Jew I certainly known a lot about and appreciate tradition), but overall it just seems like a ridiculous waste of time and money. On the other hand, England’s royal family attracts a lot of tourism to the country, so perhaps this actually is good for their economy. But regardless, the thing that really irks me is that, like Jerry says, this family really isn’t special. They weren’t elected. They weren’t chosen. True, they also don’t make laws, but one can argue that they certainly have political and social influence over the country. They’re just some family that a long long time ago decided that they were divinely chosen to rule over England. Obviously, the English Monarchy is responsible for much death and destruction in colonies and at home, and while I recognize the atrocities that the Crown has committed throughout history, I don’t necessarily think that is the sole reason to admonish the current family (a bit of an overreaction, Lawrence O’Donnell?). Mostly I just like what Seinfeld says – it’s a circus act. It’s a freakshow. Not just the wedding, but the whole family in general. Big costumes, big entrances, big egos, big money. Why should we care? No, really. I’m American, so I really want to know why I should care. I’m being genuine here. Please tell me. Am I missing something?

It’s great that they provide so much entertainment for everyone, but the amount of exposure that the wedding is getting in America is kind of disgusting. And I assume the obsession is widespread since nearly every channel I turn to on the television has some sort segment running about the wedding. Even a Lifetime movie! Fine, great, let’s be happy for the couple and watch the bride walk down the aisle, but the 24/7 coverage just needs to stop.

What do you think about this topic? Why do you think American’s are so obsessed with this event? Do you agree with Jerry Seinfeld?  Let me know in the comments!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

