West Side Story

If you follow this blog you know that over the weekend I traveled to Cleveland’s Rock and Roll Hall of Fame + Museum to cover the opening of the new exhibit Women Who Rock: Vision, Passion, Power. What an amazing exhibit, and the first in the world to be devoted solely to women’s critical role in the history of the rock music! Nikki Silva (of the Kitchen Sisters) and I took tons of photos, video, and audio of the exhibit that we will work into some kind of multi-media project in the next few months. We also got to sit down and interview Cyndi Lauper, Wanda Jackson, and Darlene Love – all three of whom also played at the It’s Only Rock and Roll Spring Benefit Concert on Sunday night. Special guestperformers also included the LEGENDARY Mavis Staples and Ronnie Spector! I will write a blog post specifically about the weekend’s events, but while I allow the adventures of this weekend to sink in, I’d like to tell you about my trip to Cleveland’s West Side Market!

Nikki and I were pretty busy running all over the museum this weekend and rarely got a chance to sit, eat, and relax. Saturday morning we found ourselves with time on our hands, so I suggested we check out the West Side Market, which Drew (my mom’s boyfriend and Cleveland native) had told me about. Oh my god. Drool. I’ve been to many of America’s greatest indoor/outdoor food markets, including the one at San Francisco’s Ferry Building, New York’s Chelsea Market, Toronto’s St. Lawrence Market, Seattle’s Pike Place, Los Angeles’ Grand Central Market, and D.C.’s Eastern Market, but Cleveland’s West Side Market blew them all pretty much out of the water. It was literally a feast for the senses. I wanted EVERYTHING. I could have spent hours in there trying hundreds of different foods, and while time did not allow for this, I certainly snapped my camera as much as possible! Nikki also did her thing and managed to get one vendor to tell us his family’s history of immigration from Italy and the establishment of the family’s vending booth – which has been operating since 1934!

Here are my photos below. Enjoy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 Comment

Filed under Featured

One response to “West Side Story

  1. Pingback: Contemplating my Kickstarter Project | Projects and Musings by Rachel Ariel Scott

Leave a Reply

